Malcolm X’s Daughter Ilyasah Shabazz Working on Series of His Life

Sony Pictures Television’s TriStar has a television series based on the life of Malcolm X in the works.

If the project moves forward, the series will be based on two novels which were both co-written by Malcolm’s daughter, Ilyasah Shabazz. The novels are X: A Novel which was co-written by Kekla Magoon and The Awakening of Malcolm X, which was co-written by Tiffany D. Jackson.

X: A Novel follows Malcolm X’s life from his childhood to his imprisonment at age twenty. The Awakening of Malcolm X follows Malcolm’s time in prison, his decision to join the Nation of Islam, and his leaving prison as Malcolm X.

Ilyasah Shabazz is an activist and motivational speaker. Shabazz has written six books including:
  • Growing Up X: A Memoir by the Daughter of Malcolm X. with Kim McLarin
  • Malcolm Little: The Boy Who Grew Up to Become Malcolm X.
  • The Diary of Malcolm X: 1964.
  • X: A Novel. with Kekla Magoon
  • Betty Before X. with Renée Watson
  • The Awakening of Malcolm X. with Tiffany D. Jackson

Ilyasah Shabazz will be an executive producer on the series.


Popular posts from this blog

Film News: Zendaya as Ellen Craft

White Water (2015) - A Review

Looking Back at Bonanza: Enter Thomas Bowers (1964)