Write It! #4 - The Divine Nine

Today is February 4, 2017 and on December 4, 1906
the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity was founded at Cornell University. After the
founding of these fraternity 8 other fraternities and sororities were founded.
These organizations went on to be called The Divine Nine.

Founding Dates:
Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity - Founded December
4, 1906 at Cornell University
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority - Founded January
15, 1908 at Howard University
Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity - Founded January
5, 1911 at Indiana University
Omega Psi Phi Fraternity - Founded November 17,
1911 at Howard University
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority - Founded January
13, 1913 at Howard University
Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity - Founded January 9,
1914 at Howard University
Zeta Phi Beta Sorority - Founded January 16, 1920
at Howard University
Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority - Founded November 12, 1922 at
Butler University
Iota Phi Theta Fraternity -  Founded September 19, 1963 at Morgan State

The Divine Nine and the National Pan-Hellenic
Council Explained:

There are nine historically Black Greek letter
organizations (BGLOs) that make up the National Pan-Hellenic Council.
Collectively, these organizations are referred to as "The Divine
Nine." Each of these fraternities and sororities is rich in history - ties
to one or more of these organizations may be found in many college-educated
Black families in the United States. (from blackgreek.com)


Popular posts from this blog

Update on Tyler Perry's Netflix Film ‘A Jazzman’s Blues’

NBC Live Musicals Are Back with NBC's Annie Live!

Film News: Zendaya as Ellen Craft