Write It! - The National Association of Colored Women

Today is February 21, 2017 and on July 21 1896 The National Association of Colored Women was established in Washington, D.C. Mary Church Terrell was elected as the first president of the National Association of Colored Women. And served as president from 1896 to 1900.

This organization was formed at the First Annual Convention of the National Federation of Afro-American Women and was a merging of about 100 different Afro-American women’s clubs including: the National Federation of African-American Women, the Woman's Era Club of Boston, and the National League of Colored Women of Washington, DC.

By 1918, 22 years after its founding The National Association of Colored Women now called the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs had grown to over 300,000 members nationwide.








Popular posts from this blog

Update on Tyler Perry's Netflix Film ‘A Jazzman’s Blues’

Lovie Simone Cast as Mary Simms in Apple Limited Series ‘Manhunt’

NBC Live Musicals Are Back with NBC's Annie Live!